Nottinghamshire batsman Alex Hales and Surrey all-rounder Zafar Ansari could make their England Test debuts in the UAE after being selected in the squad for the series against Pakistan.

Hales’s county colleague James Taylor is also named, after impressing during the one-day series with Australia.

There is no place for Yorkshire’s Gary Ballance and Adam Lyth, with the latter dropped after a poor Ashes series.

The three-Test series begins in Abu Dhabi on 13 October.

Pakistan v England: Test dates

13-17 October: 1st Test, ZCS, Abu Dhabi
22-26 October: 2nd Test, Dubai Cricket Stadium
1-5 November: 3rd Test, Sharjah CC

All-rounder Ben Stokes is rested from the one-day squad, to which batsman Joe Root returns.

Lancashire spinner Stephen Parry and Sussex bowler Chris Jordan are recalled to the T20 squad.

The England and Wales Cricket Board has also announced former England ODI captain Paul Collingwood and ex-Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene will join the England management team in consultancy roles.

National selector James Whitaker said Hales, 26, “fully deserved” a chance at the top of the order after scoring 886 runs at an average of 52.11 in the County Championship this season.

“He has scored heavily for Nottinghamshire in first-class cricket and has shown he can play match-winning innings for England in white-ball cricket,” said Whitaker.

Left-armer Ansari, 23, who has taken 44 wickets and scored more than 700 runs this season, will provide a third spin option alongside Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid.

“Zafar Ansari’s potential excites us and he will provide strong competition for Rashid and Moeen in the Test squad after enjoying an excellent domestic season with both bat and ball,” said Whitaker.

Ansari described his selection as a “surprise”.

Pakistan v England: limited-overs dates

11 November: 1st ODI, ZCS, Abu Dhabi
13 November: 2nd ODI, ZCS, Abu Dhabi
17 November: 3rd ODI, Sharjah CC
20 November: 4th ODI, Dubai Cricket Stadium
26 November: 1st T20, Dubai Cricket Stadium
27 November: 2nd T20, Dubai Cricket Stadium
30 November: 3rd T20, Sharjah CC

“I found out last night,” Ansari said. “Going into this season it wasn’t on my radar.

“I just wanted to have a solid, consistent season with Surrey and establish myself a bit more. Things have gone my way and this is what happens when that happens.

“If the conditions prove to be very spin friendly and I make an impression then great. I’m there as much as anything to learn and try to develop quickly and if I get my chance, to go out and perform.”

Taylor is recalled to the Test set-up after winning the last of his two caps against South Africa in 2012.

The middle-order batsman, who may compete for a spot in the XI with Jonny Bairstow, enjoyed a prolific ODI series against Australia, scoring 246 runs at an average of 49.20.

With Lyth dropped after averaging just 12.77 in the Ashes, captain Alastair Cook seems certain to have a seventh opening partner since the retirement of Andrew Strauss, though it is not clear whether Hales, Moeen or even Ansari will be selected.

Test squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Zafar Ansari (Surrey), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), Reece Topley (Essex), David Willey (Northamptonshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Twenty20 squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Stephen Parry (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Reece Topley (Essex), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Northamptonshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Source: BBC

The post England in UAE: Alex Hales and Zafar Ansari in, Adam Lyth out appeared first on RU Breaking News.